Written Elements et al

Written Elements

Thinking back about how a written element can be included in the book, I have recently thought that an essay would not work.

As the book is fairly conceptual, and (while photographed in Cornwall) is photographed in such a way that the locations are fairly ambiguous, and could be representative of any location with this kind of industry. This ambiguity would be lost if an essay or long element of prose were included somewhere in the book.

I opened a notes page and just started typing anything to do with mining or quarrying, including the title; which soon resulted in a two-verse poem. Not something I envisioned myself creating for this FMP, but so many surprises have been thrown up since it began that I should have come to expect it.

Screenshot 2020-04-20 at 16.01.09.png

Other Imagery

Linking this to some of the old/mobile imagery I have, I have a small selection which I could include alongside those words.

93990121_912514035837552_4551981184124452864_n.jpg
A phone image made on the first shoot day.
DSC_7746.jpg
An image from 2014, which I like too much not to include in an edit.

These two images were shot on film in 2017 in Moorswater, one of the locations I photographed before lockdown. These images would not work in the main narrative, as it would ruin any flow, as well as the tonal sequence, due to them both being black and white.

Cheesewring Quarry_Page_1_Image_0001
This postcard would need enhancing, but it provides a view of the main quarry I photographed in the early 1900s.

Currently, I have included one image along with the text as a preface to the main narrative.

Screenshot 2020-04-20 at 16.43.14.png

Screenshot 2020-04-20 at 16.44.31.png

Screenshot 2020-04-20 at 16.55.05

The current image I have used works well, in my opinion. The border of the image, which was a part of the postcard, offers an element of formality, and emphasises the sense that the image is ‘found’. Compared to this…

Cheesewring Quarry_Page_1_Image_0001

…which is presented in a much rougher way. I will keep the image the same.

Leave a comment