Online Showcases and Essays

Considering this is now an online submission, it’s important to take into account how other practitioners are showcasing their work online – especially when it comes to book work.

I have found several photographers who displayed their book work online.

Lisa Barnard

Lisa Barnard, who I have used as a heavy reference so far, has gone so far as to create a fully interactive website to showcase The Canary and the Hammer – a site named ‘The Gold Depository’. Each section of work is displayed as an electron around the atomic structure graphic of gold.

Screenshot 2020-04-23 at 19.25.51.png

Each section is set to music, and scrolls similarly to how a BBC News long-read would, incorporating text and images (which scroll both normally down the page, as well as left to right)

Screenshot 2020-04-23 at 19.28.43.png

In the time frame I have, something like this is out of the picture, however, I always find this to be a great example.

Tom Broadbent

Tom Broadbent’s book ‘At Home With The Furries’ is one that I know personally to be very vibrant. The photography itself is vibrant, yet there is a long, scrapbook style notes page at the back. On his website, this project is displayed as a gallery, with almost every image from the book shown with a short description of the book.

Screenshot 2020-04-23 at 20.35.13.png

It is a simple yet effective layout, which works to not give too much away about the project.

Michael Danner

Danner is a documentary photographer with many book projects, which are displayed online in a similar style to Broadbent. The website is divided into several sections, and each book is accompanied by a short, third-person description, along with a longer description under a cut, and other information too.

In the grand scheme of things for my own work, this will most likely be the approach I take.

Several of his projects also include a long-form written essay, which in my opinion is far too much. Were my work destined to be featured in a gallery, or elsewhere in a physical form, this would be something I would consider.

From this, I will likely follow Danner’s ‘about’ style.

 

 

Leave a comment