The Shoot

Given the workspace I had to work with, and the limitations in props at my disposal, I would say that the shoot was successful.

As this imagery is not what I enjoy shooting, naturally I do not like the images I have made, however, I feel that these fit the brief, and what I set out to create at the pitch last week.

Issues

As I am so used to photographing outdoors, with my camera settings pretty much set the same each time, I had trouble getting out of that habit while shooting indoors. For several of these images, I was shooting at f4, before moving onto an image which I intended to shoot at f8. These images were eventually reshot.

The image I was intending to make for the ‘joy of working from home’ section was due to involve my dog, however, she was not cooperating, and refused to sit still. I changed this image to my backup plan, which showed a view of the outside of my WFH space.

My home office space is very dark, unfortunately. It isn’t helped by the fact that the desk is black, the monitor is black, and that, even with open blinds, very little light reaches the room. There is little I can do to change that, so the images are naturally a lot less visually appealing than what I imagine is expected.

Cropping

I made sure to consider cropping when shooting my images. As they are for social media, it is likely that a 1×1 crop will be needed at some point. I have done my best to centre the main subject of the image, or place the main subject in such a way that it would not be affected by a 1×1 crop.

Image 1 – Work From Home Space

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.17.38.png

I shall remove the hanging birds from the top right corner and increase the exposure by half a stop.

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.40.33.png

Image 2 – Joy

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.18.52.png

Image 3 – Product in Context

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.19.56.png

This image also needs to be brightened, again by half a stop.

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.43.20.png

Image 4 – Environment

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.20.53.png

I made a small adjustment to this, and increased the exposure in post by half of a stop.

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.23.51.png

Originally, I intended for this image to show the phone besides a stack of paper, however this did not look as good as I had hoped.

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.45.44.png

I thought about how apps are normally showcased in adverts, and most of the time they are shown from above, or facing the camera a lot more than I had shot. That way the viewer can actually see what is being shown on screen.

Hence, I opted to shoot from the top down. I used this image thread with Elle which discusses a fictional shoot in a forest. The idea is that the tree would connote the environmental benefits alongside the app consolidating the paper scraps it is placed on.

Image 5 – Professional Network

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.22.02.png

This is an example of an image which I intended to shoot at f8, but ended up leaving at f4. It is a serendipitous moment, as I like how the front of the laptop is out of focus, while the focus remains on the conversation and laptop screen. I will reshoot this, so I can remove the monitor from the background.

Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 12.33.27.png

Leave a comment