Book – Final Changes

Adjustment to title kerning

Adjustment to intro text alignment


A note about progress

This book has reached the natural conclusion for this book given the circumstances.

As I was not able to continue shooting, I have had to focus a lot more on the minutiae of the file, notably the sequencing, tonality, as well as the book design. As a result, this book has gone through nine different variations in the past two months.

Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 14.27.27

While the sequence has been shortened to the best it can possibly be for the book, the more I look at the work now, the more I don’t like it. If I was able to, I would definitely go back and reshoot and explore more places, and spend more time researching the history of specific parts, as well as photographing more portraits to create a more visually interesting book. This would also humanise the area considerably more than what I have currently.

Version 1 to Version 9

The Remaining Shoots

The final shoots would have added possibly five or six more images to the sequence and would have showcased London landmarks built from Cornish granite, but photographed in such a way that a sense of place couldn’t be established.

Leave a comment